Discover the vocational and technical careers with the best job opportunities in Québec

Nurse aides, orderlies and patient service associates

Other titles : anesthetic attendant - hospital, continuing care assistant, emergency medical care assistant, emergency medical responder, emergency room aide, first aid attendant, geriatric aide, geriatric health care attendant, health care aide or assistant, hospice worker, hospital aide or attendant, nursing attendant, nursing orderly, nursing services aide, operating room aide, orderly, patient care aide or assistant or associate, psychiatric aide, registered care aide, special care facility attendant, surgical aide, unit assistant - medical, unit support technician - medical

Details

Description :

Nurse aides, orderlies and patient service associates assist nurses, hospital staff and physicians in the basic care of patients. They are employed in hospitals, nursing homes, assisted care facilities for the elderly and other health care establishments.

Main duties :

  • answer call signals; supply and empty bed pans; bathe, dress and groom patients; serve meal trays, feed or assist in feeding of patients and assist patients with menu selection; weigh, lift, turn, and position patients; shave patients prior to operations; supervise patients' exercise routines, set up and provide leisure activities for patients, accompany patients on outside recreational activities and perform other duties related to patient care and comfort;
  • take patients' blood pressure, temperature and pulse; report or record fluid intake and output; observe or monitor patients' status and document patient care on charts; administer first aid in emergency situations; collect specimens such as urine, faeces or sputum; administer suppositories, colonic irrigations and enemas and perform other procedures as directed by nursing and hospital staff;
  • transport patients by wheelchair or stretcher for treatment or surgery;
  • carry messages, reports, requisitions and specimens between departments;
  • make beds and maintain patients' rooms;
  • maintain inventory of supplies;
  • may perform maintenance tasks such as assisting with the set-up and maintenance of traction equipment, cleaning or sterilizing equipment, maintaining and repairing equipment, and assembling, setting-up and operating job-related equipment;
  • may transport patients between care facilities.
  • Abitibi-Témiscamingue
  • Laval
  • Chaudière-Appalaches
  • Outaouais
  • Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine
  • Bas-Saint-Laurent
  • Lanaudière
  • Capitale-Nationale
  • Côte-Nord
  • Laurentides
  • Montérégie
  • Centre-du-Québec

Training

Diploma of Vocational Studies (DVS)

 

Assistance in Health Care Facilities

Program length : less than a year

Program Objectives

With the help of an intervention plan, this program trains the student to provide care, assistance and services related to the needs of a patient of any age. The students also learn to welcome and integrate persons in the care unit, provide care and comfort specific to the context of the unit, that is, they adapt the basic care and services to the client’s condition as well as to the apparatus required.

Educational organizations offering the program

Découvre les métiers en formation professionnelle et technique qui offrent les meilleurs perspectives d'emploi au Québec

Aides-infirmiers/aides-infirmières, aides-soignants/aides-soignantes et préposés/préposées aux bénéficiaires

Autres appellations : aide au service de soins aux patients, aide aux services infirmiers, aide aux soins de longue durée, aide de salle d'opération, aide de salle d'opération, aide de salle d'urgence, aide en chirurgie, assistant infirmier/assistante infirmière, assistant technicien/assistante technicienne en soins médicaux d'urgence, assistant/assistante au service de soins aux patients, assistant/assistante en soins continus, assistant/assistante en soins de santé, associé/associée aux soins des patients, auxiliaire médical/auxiliaire médicale d'hôpital, auxiliaire médical/auxiliaire médicale en soins d'urgence, porteur/porteuse d'hôpital, préposé/préposée aux soins infirmiers, préposé/préposée aux soins médicaux d'urgence, préposé/préposée de foyer de convalescence, préposé/préposée de foyer de soins spéciaux, préposé/préposée de maison de soins infirmiers, préposé/préposée d'hôpital, préposé/préposée en soins gériatriques, travailleur/travailleuse au service de soins aux patients, travailleur/travailleuse d'hospice

Fiche métier

Description :

Les aides-infirmiers, les aides-soignants et les préposés aux bénéficiaires aident le personnel infirmier et hospitalier ainsi que les médecins dans la prestation des soins de base aux patients. Ils travaillent dans des centres hospitaliers, des maisons de santé, des résidences-services pour personnes âgées et d'autres établissements de santé.

Principales tâches :

  • répondre aux appels, fournir et vider les bassins, laver et habiller les patients et faire leur toilette; servir les plateaux de nourriture et nourrir les patients ou les aider à se nourrir ainsi qu'à choisir leur menu; peser, lever, retourner, ou positionner les patients; raser les patients avant les interventions chirurgicales; superviser les séries d'exercices effectuées par les patients, organiser et proposer des activités de loisir aux patients, accompagner les patients au cours de sorties pour divertissement et s'acquitter d'autres tâches reliées aux soins et au confort des patients;
  • mesurer la tension artérielle des patients, et prendre leur température et leur pouls; rendre compte des liquides absorbés et rejetés; observer l'état des patients ou le contrôler et noter dans les dossiers des patients les soins administrés; en cas d'urgence, administrer les premiers soins; prélever des spécimens tels que l'urine, les fèces ou les expectorations; administrer des suppositoires, effectuer des irrigations du côlon et des lavements, et effectuer d'autres tâches suivant les instructions du personnel infirmier et hospitalier;
  • conduire, en fauteuil roulant ou en civière, les patients qui doivent subir un traitement ou une intervention chirurgicale;
  • livrer les messages, les rapports, les réquisitions et les prélèvements d'un service à un autre;
  • faire les lits et veiller à ce que les chambres des patients soient propres;
  • tenir à jour l'inventaire des fournitures;
  • effectuer, au besoin, des travaux d'entretien, tels qu'aider à installer et à entretenir le matériel de traction, laver, stériliser, entretenir ou réparer le matériel, monter, mettre en place et utiliser d'autre matériel employé;
  • transporter, au besoin, les patients d'un établissement de soins à un autre.
  • Abitibi-Témiscamingue
  • Laval
  • Chaudière-Appalaches
  • Outaouais
  • Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine
  • Bas-Saint-Laurent
  • Lanaudière
  • Capitale-Nationale
  • Côte-Nord
  • Laurentides
  • Montérégie
  • Centre-du-Québec

Formation

Diplôme d'études professionnelles (DEP)

Assistance à la personne en établissement de santé

Durée : moins d’un an

Objectifs du programme

Le programme d'études professionnelles Assistance à la personne en établissement et à domicile prépare à l'exercice de la profession de préposées et de préposés aux bénéficiaires et d'aides familiales résidentes et d'aides familiaux résidents dans le domaine de la santé et des services sociaux.

Cette profession vise à offrir de l'aide et des soins d'assistance à une clientèle de tout âge présentant des maladies ou des incapacités physiques, psychiques ou psychosociales dans les réseaux public, privé et communautaire. La raison d'être de la profession est de suppléer aux incapacités de la personne et de l'assister dans le maintien ou le rétablissement de son autonomie et de son état de santé.

Organismes scolaires offrant le programme