Discover the vocational and technical careers with the best job opportunities in Québec

Database Analysts and Data Administrators

Other titles : data administrator, data analyst - informatics and systems, data custodian, data dictionary administrator, data miner data mining analyst, data warehouse analyst, database administrator (DBA), database analyst (DBA), database architect (DBA), database designer, database management supervisor - computer systems, database manager, EDP (electronic data processing) analyst, electronic data processing (EDP) specialist, electronic data processing (EDP) systems analyst, information resource analyst, technical architect - database


Description :

Database analysts design, develop and administer data management solutions using database management software. Data administrators develop and implement data administration policy, standards and models. They are employed in information technology consulting firms and in information technology units throughout the private and public sectors.

Main duties :

Database analysts

  • collect and document user requirements;
  • design and develop database architecture for information systems projects;
  • design, construct, modify, integrate, implement and test data models and database management systems;
  • conduct research and provide advice to other informatics professionals regarding the selection, application and implementation of database management tools;
  • operate database management systems to analyze data and perform data mining analysis;
  • may lead, co-ordinate or supervise other workers in this group.

Data administrators

  • develop and implement data administration policy, standards and models;
  • research and document data requirements, data collection and administration policy, data access rules and security;
  • develop policies and procedures for network and/or Internet database access and usage and for the backup and recovery of data;
  • conduct research and provide advice to other information systems professionals regarding the collection, availability, security and suitability of data;
  • write scripts related to stored procedures and triggers;
  • may lead and co-ordinate teams of data administrators in the development and implementation of data policies, standards and models.
  • Laval
  • Montérégie
  • Outaouais
  • Montréal
  • Capitale-Nationale




Program length: 3 years

Program Objectives


Specialization A - Administrative Data Processing

By the end of the program, the programmer will be able to organize and use data; correct programs; analyze the features of the information systems of various companies with a view to developing computer-aided solutions; develop conceptual models using the structured approach; exploit the possibilities of a networked computing environment; create and use databases; make functional improvements to an application; ensure the quality of an application; use multimedia processing utilitiesprovide technical support and training to users; install an application; design and develop an application in a database and in a graphics environment; and to design and develop a hypermedia application within internal and global networks.

Specialization B - Industrial Data Processing

By the end of the program the student will be qualified to analyze an industrial production environment; analyze the potential of an industrial peripheral; organize and store the data of an industrial system; create a communications link between an industrial system's hardware and software; develop a data transfer interface between industrial applications; develop an industrial application; conduct integration and stress tests; analyze an industrial system; diagnose and resolve the performance problems of an industrial system; develop and deliver an application suite for an industrial system.

Specialization C - Network Management

By the end of the program, the student will be qualified to use an algorighmic approach; analyse the architecture of a computer network; choose hardware; optimize teh functionalities of an operating system on a computer; ensure the security of a computer network's hardware and software; manage a computer population; manage a computer network; choose software; manage their time and ensure the quality of their work; provide technical support to network users; ensure the evolution of the computer network; diagnose and resolve network problems; set up a server; set up Internet-related technologies and services; plan the installation of a computer network; install a computer network; manage a computer network.

Where this program is available




  • Administration des affaires
  • Sciences de l'informatique

Découvre les métiers en formation professionnelle et technique qui offrent les meilleurs perspectives d'emploi au Québec

Analystes de bases de données et administrateurs/administratrices de données

Autres appellations : administrateur/administratrice de base de données, administrateur/administratrice de données

Fiche métier

Description :

Les administrateurs de données mettent au point et mettent en oeuvre les lignes directrices, les procédures et les modèles de gestion de données. Ils travaillent dans des firmes d'experts-conseils et dans les services informatiques des secteurs privé et public.

Principales tâches :

  • mettre au point et mettre en ouvre les politiques, les normes et les modèles de gestion des données;
  • étudier et documenter les exigences concernant les données, leurs politiques de collecte et d'administration et leurs règles d'accès;
  • élaborer les politiques et procédures d'utilisation et d'accès au réseau, et pour la sauvegarde et la restauration des données;
  • fournir des conseils aux professionnels des systèmes d'information au sujet de la collecte, de la disponibilité et de la recevabilité des données.

Régions où ce métier
a les meilleures perspectives :

  • Montérégie
  • Capitale-Nationale
  • Laurentides
  • Montréal
  • Outaouais
  • Laval

Formation

DIPLÔME D'ÉTUDES COLLÉGIALES (DEC)

TECHNIQUES DE L'INFORMATIQUE

Durée : 3 ans

Objectifs du programme

Le programme Techniques de l'informatique comprend trois voies de spécialisation. La voie de spécialisation Informatique de gestion vise à former des personnes aptes à exercer la profession de programmeuse-analyste et de programmeur-analyste, dans le domaine de la gestion. La voie de spécialisation Informatique industrielle vise à former des personnes aptes à exercer la profession de programmeuse-analyste et de programmeur-analyste en informatique industrielle. La voie de spécialisation Gestion de réseaux informatiques a pour but de former des personnes aptes à exercer la profession de gestionnaire de réseaux informatiques.

Voie de spécialisation A - Informatique de gestion

Au terme de sa formation, la programmeuse-analyste ou le programmeur-analyste sera en mesure d'organiser et exploiter des données; de corriger des programmes; d'analyser les caractéristiques de systèmes d'information d'entreprises variées en vue de la formulation de solutions informatiques; de développer des modèles conceptuels selon l'approche structurée; de mettre à profit les possibilités d'un environnement informatique en réseau; de créer et d'exploiter des bases de données; d'apporter des améliorations fonctionnelles à une application; d'assurer la qualité d'une application; d'utiliser des outils de traitements multimédias; d'assurer un soutien technique et la formation aux utilisatrices et utilisateurs; et de mettre en oeuvre une application; de concevoir et développer une application dans un environnement de base de données et dans un environnement graphique; et de concevoir et développer une application hypermédia dans des réseaux internes et mondiaux.

Voie de spécialisation B - Informatique industrielle

Au terme de sa formation la programmeuse-analyste et le programmeur-analyste spécialisé en informatique industrielle sera en mesure d'analyser un environnement de production industrielle; d'analyser la potentialité d'un périphérique industriel; de procéder à l'organisation et au stockage de données d'un système industriel; d'établir la communication entre des éléments matériels et logiciels d'un système industriel; de développer une interface de transfert de données entre applications industrielles; de développer une application industrielle; d'effectuer des tests d'intégration et de stress; de procéder à l'analyse d'un système industriel; de diagnostiquer et résoudre des problèmes de fonctionnement d'un système industriel; de développer et livrer l'ensemble des applications d'un système industriel.

Voie de spécialisation C - Gestion de réseaux informatiques

Au terme de sa formation la ou le gestionnaire de réseau sera en mesure d'appliquer une démarche algorithmique; d'analyser l'architecture d'un réseau informatique; de choisir des éléments physiques; d'optimiser les fonctionnalités du système d'exploitation d'une station de travail; d'assurer la sécurité des éléments physiques et logiques du réseau informatique; d'assurer la gestion du parc informatique; de superviser le fonctionnement du réseau informatique; de choisir des logiciels; d'assurer la gestion de son temps et de la qualité de son travail; d'assurer le soutien à la clientèle du réseau informatique; d'assurer l'évolution duréseau informatique; de développer des utilitaires; de diagnostiquer et résoudre les problèmes du réseau informatique; de monter un serveur; d'implanter les technologies et les services propres au réseau Internet; de planifier l'implantation d'un réseau informatique; d'implanter un réseau informatique; d'assurer la gestion du réseau informatique.

Organismes scolaires offrant le programme