Discover the vocational and technical careers with the best job opportunities in Québec

Machinists and machining and tooling inspectors

Other titles : aircraft engine parts machinist, aircraft machinist, apprentice automotive machinist, auto parts machine shop inspector, computer-assisted machinist, differential gear testing machinist, electrical machinist, gear inspector-machinist, gear tester-machinist, general machinist, precision machinist, printing press machinist, tooling inspector, toolroom inspector, toolroom machinist


Description :

Machinists set up and operate a variety of machine tools to cut or grind metal, plastic or other materials to make or modify parts or products with precise dimensions. Machining and tooling inspectors inspect machined parts and tooling in order to maintain quality control standards. They are employed by machinery, equipment, motor vehicle, automotive parts, aircraft and other metal products manufacturing companies and by machine shops.

Main duties :


  • Read and interpret engineering drawings, blueprints, charts and tables or study sample parts to determine machining operation to be performed, and plan best sequence of operations
  • Compute dimensions and tolerances and measure and lay out work pieces
  • Set up, operate and maintain a variety of machine tools including computer numerically controlled (CNC) tools to perform precision, non-repetitive machining operations such as sawing, turning, milling, boring, planing, drilling, precision grinding and other operations
  • Fit and assemble machined metal parts and subassemblies using hand and power tools
  • Verify dimensions of products for accuracy and conformance to specifications using precision measuring instruments
  • May set up and program machine tools for use by machining tool operators

Machining and tooling inspectors perform some or all of the following duties :

  • Verify dimensions of machined parts or tooling using micrometers, verniers, callipers, height gauges, optical comparators, co-ordinate measuring machines (CMM) or other specialized measuring instruments
  • Maintain, repair and calibrate precision measuring instruments such as dial indicators, fixed gauges, height gauges and other measuring devices
  • Report deviations from specifications and tolerances to supervisor
  • Complete and maintain inspection reports
  • Capitale-Nationale
  • Laurentides
  • Montérégie
  • Lanaudière
  • Chaudière-Appalaches
  • Bas-Saint-Laurent
  • Abitibi-Témiscamingue
  • Montréal
  • Estrie
  • Laval
  • Mauricie
  • Centre-du-Québec


Diploma of Vocational Studies (DVS)


Machining Techniques

Program length: 2 years

Program Objectives

To develop in the students the basic competencies required to carry out machining tasks, to perform machining tasks on conventional machine tools, to perform programming tasks, to perform machining tasks on numerical control machine tools, to actively participate in multidisciplinary teams and to integrate harmoniously into the school and work environments. .

Educational organizations offering the program



Attestation of Vocational Specialization (AVS)


Numerical Control Machine Tool Operation

Program length: less than a 1 year

Program Objectives

To develop basic skills necessary to the trade such as: resolving mathematical problems relatied to numerical control machine tools, interpret drawings; develop the skills necessary to do manual programming, automatic programming, basic and complex machining on a numerical control lathe; develop the skills necessary for multidisciplinary team work and to integrate into shcool and work life.

Educational organizations offering the program



Admission requirements for an AVS

To enroll in an AVS program, a DVS or equivalent experience in a related field is required. The AVS is issued upon the successful completion of a program that upgrades skills or provides specialization in a particular trade or occupation. 


Diploma of Collegial Studies (DCS)


Mechanical Engineering Technology

Program Lenght: 3 years

Program objectives

The purpose of this program is to train technicians to carry out the technical design of different components and mechanical systems, to plan manufacturing and to take care of quality control. Mandatory competencies (23) from the specific training category aim to ensure the versatility of graduates and to enable them to work equally in the fields of design and manufacturing. The category entitled elective competencies (7 competencies) aims at the development of competencies in the particular fields such as: development of manufacturing range, programming of machines with numerical control, design and the manufacturing of tools, industrial lines and mechanical systems with their frame, the manufacturing of prototypes, quality control, the planning of the maintenance of machinery, the organization and the coodination of production, technological survey and research and development. This program will contribute to the development and training of students in the following capacities: to include/understand and apply all directives in relation to their work (to establish interpersonal relationships, to work as a team and to adapt to changes), to plan and organize their work with an emphasis on productivity (accuracy, precision, quality, time limits), good judgement, communicate orally and written in French, to bring in new ideas and solutions, defend a project or an idea, use production equipment, to have continuous improvement and to learn individually.

Educational organizations offering the program



Other training

Occupation targeted under the Workplace Apprenticeship Program.

This program was created by Commission des partenaires du marché du travail and Emploi-Québec in partnership with sector-based labor force committees.

It supports workplace apprenticeship and skill recognition programs.

Training and skill evaluation are under the supervision of an experienced worker. Once the apprenticeship is finished and skills are mastered by the apprentice, a certificate of qualification is issued and recorded in a government registry.

For more information on the Workplace Apprenticeship Program, see the Emploi-Québec website

Découvre les métiers en formation professionnelle et technique qui offrent les meilleurs perspectives d'emploi au Québec

Machinistes et vérificateurs/vérificatrices d'usinage et d'outillage

Autres appellations : chef d'équipe d'atelier d'usinage, contrôleur/contrôleuse de pièces usinées, machiniste de moteurs diesel, usineur/usineuse d'automobile

Fiche métier

Description :

Les machinistes règlent et conduisent diverses machines-outils afin de tailler ou de meuler le métal, le plastique ou d'autres matériaux pour fabriquer ou modifier des pièces ou des produits de dimensions précises. Les vérificateurs d'usinage et d'outillage vérifient les pièces usinées afin d'assurer le maintien des normes de qualité. Ils travaillent dans des usines de fabrication de machinerie, d'équipement, de véhicules automobiles, de pièces d'automobiles, d'aéronefs et autres pièces métalliques façonnées, ainsi que dans des ateliers.

Principales tâches :

Machinistes

  • lire et interpréter des dessins techniques;
  • calculer les dimensions et les tolérances, mesurer et agencer les éléments à usiner;
  • régler, faire fonctionner et entretenir diverses machines-outils, de même que de l'outillage à commande numérique par ordinateur (CNC), pour exécuter des travaux d'usinage de précision, non répétitifs;
  • ajuster et assembler les pièces métalliques usinées et les sous-assemblages au moyen d'outils manuels et mécaniques;
  • vérifier, à l'aide d'instruments de mesure de précision, si les dimensions des produits sont exactes et conformes aux prescriptions;
  • régler, au besoin, et programmer des machines-outils à l'intention des opérateurs de machines d'usinage.

Vérificateurs d'usinage et d'outillage

  • vérifier les dimensions des pièces usinées et de l'outillage;
  • entretenir, réparer et étalonner des instruments de mesure de précision;
  • relever tout écart par rapport aux spécifications et aux tolérances, et en aviser le contremaître;
  • tenir des dessins de contrôle et rédiger des rapports d'inspection.

Régions où ce métier
a les meilleures perspectives :

  • Nord-du-Québec
  • Côte-Nord
  • Capitale-Nationale
  • Bas-Saint-Laurent
  • Mauricie
  • Abitibi-Témiscamingue
  • Estrie
  • Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean
  • Montérégie
  • Lanaudière
  • Chaudière-Appalaches
  • Centre-du-Québec

Formation

Diplôme d'études professionnelles (DEP)

 

Programmes

  • Modelage
  • Techniques d'usinage

 

Modelage

Durée: moins de 2 ans

Objectifs du programme

Acquérir les connaissances, les habiletés et les attitudes nécessaires pour concevoir, fabriquer et modifier des modèles, des boîtes à noyau et des plaques modèles (en bois, en mousse plastique, en résine de coulée et en plastique renforcé) qui serviront à la fabrication de moules utilisés en fonderie et en plasturgie.

Organismes scolaires offrant le programme

 

 

Techniques d'usinage

Durée: 2 ans

Objectifs du programme

Développer les compétences de base nécessaires à l'exécution des tâches du métier, c'est-à-dire : prévenir les risques d'atteinte à la santé et à la sécurité, résoudre des problèmes mathématiques liés à l'usinage sur machines-outils conventionnelles et sur machines-outils à commande numérique, interpréter des dessins techniques, effectuer des croquis des relevés et des mesures, développer les compétences particulières à l'usinage sur machines-outils conventionnelles en effectuant des travaux d'atelier, de tournage, de fraisage, d'alésage et d'usinage de pièces simples, de pièces complexes et d'une production en série; développer les compétences nécessaires à la programmation manuelle et à l'usinage de pièces simples au tour et au centre d'usinage à commande numérique; développer les compétences nécessaires à une collaboration active au sein d'équipes multidisciplinaires et les compétences nécessaires à l'intégration harmonieuse au milieu scolaire et au milieu de travail.

Organismes scolaires offrant le programme

 

 

Attestation de spécialisation professionnelle (ASP)

 

Usinage sur machines-outils à commande numérique

Durée: un peu moins de 1 ans

Objectifs du programme

 Développer les compétences de base nécessaires à l'exécution des tâches du métier, c'est-à-dire : résoudre des problèmes mathématiques liés à l'usinage sur machines-outils à commande numérique, interpréter des dessins complexes liés à l'usinage sur machines-outils à commande numérique; développer les compétences nécessaires à la programmation manuelle, à la programmation automatique et à l'usinage de pièces simples, de pièces complexes et d'une production en série à l'aide d'un tour et d'un centre d'usinage à commande numérique; développer les compétences nécessaires à une collaboration active au sein d'équipes multidisciplinaires et les compétences nécessaires à l'intégration harmonieuse au milieu scolaire et au milieu de travail.

Organismes scolaires offrant le programme

 

 

Conditions d'admission à L'ASP

Pour pouvoir s’inscrire à cette formation, il faut avoir en sa possession un DEP ou encore posséder une expérience équivalente qui est en relation avec le programme d’études. Cette attestation certifie une formation permettant de se perfectionner ou de se spécialiser dans un métier donné.

 

 

Diplôme d'études collégiales (DEC)

 

Techniques de génie mécanique

Durée: 3 ans

Objectifs du programme

Le programme Techniques de génie mécanique vise à former des techniciennes et des techniciens aptes à effectuer la conception technique de divers composants et systèmes mécaniques, à planifier leur fabrication et à veiller au contrôle de la qualité. Les compétences obligatoires (23) de la partie de formation spécifique visent à assurer la polyvalence des diplômées et des diplômés pour leur permettre d'oeuvrer autant dans le domaine de la conception que dans celui de la fabrication. La partie du programme au choix de l'établissement (entre 7 et 10 compétences) vise le développement de compétences dans les domaines particuliers tel que : l'élaboration de gamme de fabrication, la programmation de machines à commande numérique, la conception et la fabrication d'outillage, de canalisations industrielles et de systèmes mécaniques avec leur bâti, la fabrication de prototypes, le contrôle de la qualité, la planification de l'entretien de la machinerie, l'organisation et la coordination du travail de production, la veille technologique et la recherche et le développement. Ce programme contribuera à développer chez les personnes formées les capacités suivantes : comprendre et mettre en application toute directive relative à son travail (établir des relations interpersonnelles et travailler en équipe, s'adapter aux changements), planifier et organiser son travail avec un souci de productivité (exactitude, rigueur, qualité, délais), porter un jugement correct, communiquer oralement et par écrit en français, apporter des idées et des solutions nouvelles, argumenter, défendre un projet ou une idée, utiliser des instruments de productivité et d'améioration continue et apprendre de façon autonome.

Organismes scolaires offrant le programme

 

Autre formation

Ce métier est visé par le Programme d'apprentissage en milieu de travail

Ce programme est élaboré par la Commission des partenaires du marché du travail et par Emploi-Québec, en concertation avec les comités sectoriels de main-d'œuvre.

Il soutient des activités d'apprentissage et de reconnaissance des compétences en milieu de travail.

L'acquisition et l'évaluation des compétences se font par compagnonnage. Un certificat de qualification professionnelle est délivré lorsque l'apprenti ou l'apprentie maîtrise les compétences associées à l'exercice de son métier ou de sa profession. Les certificats sont consignés dans un registre d'État.

Pour plus d'information sur le programme d'apprentissage en milieu de travail, consulter cette section du site Web d'Emploi-Québec.