Discover the vocational and technical careers with the best job opportunities in Québec

Secretaries (Except Legal and Medical)

Other titles : administrative secretary, secretary-stenographer, secretary-telephone operator, technical secretary


Description :

Secretaries perform a variety of administrative duties in support of managerial and professional employers. They are employed throughout the private and public sectors.

Main duties :

  • prepare, key in, edit and proofread correspondence, invoices, presentations, brochures, publications, reports and related material from shorthand, machine dictation and handwritten copy using computers;
  • open and distribute incoming regular and electronic mail and other material and co-ordinate the flow of information internally and with other departments and organizations;
  • schedule and confirm appointments and meetings of employer;
  • order office supplies and maintain inventory;
  • answer telephone and electronic enquiries and relay telephone calls and messages;
  • set up and maintain manual and computerized information filing systems;
  • determine and establish office procedures;
  • greet visitors, ascertain nature of business and direct visitors to employer or appropriate person;
  • record and prepare minutes of meetings;
  • arrange travel schedules and make reservations;
  • may compile data, statistics and other information and may conduct research;
  • may organize conferences;
  • may supervise and train other staff in procedures and in use of current software.
  • Chaudière-Appalaches
  • Outaouais
  • Capitale-Nationale





Program length : One and a half year

Program Objectives

To develop in the students the competencies required to apply the following principles, rules and methods: integrate harmoniously into the school and work environments; to proofread business texts; to apply a keyboarding technique; to manage administrative information; to understand and identify various management approaches to quality; to manage their time; to design the visual format of a document; to write business correspondence; to use database software; to use the basic functions of word processing software; to use the basic functions of spreadsheet software; to use the advanced function of word processing software; to use telecommunication tools; to communicate in a business in an office setting; to handle bilingual communications in an office setting; to produce and receive business correspondence; to produce documents; to handle requests regarding labour laws; to update files; to prepare business meetings; to carry out common and periodic accounting tasks; to produce business correspondence in French; to translate business correspondence into French.

Where this program is available



Program length: one and a half years

Program Objectives:

To develop the skills necessary to apply the following principles, rules and methods: keyboarding in French and Inuktitut, business correspondence production, producing correspondence in Inuktitut, document management, quality of texts, time management, desktop publishing; develop the skills necessary for using the following software tools: browsers, databases, word processing, completing accounting tasks; develop the skills required to communicate in the workplace and to manage office communications in French and in English using appropriate telecommunications and computer tools; develop the skills necessary to complete secretarial tasks such as: producing business correspondence in English and in Inuktitut, business documents, processing requests concerning labour laws, prepare business meetings, bookkeeping, process salarues, updating files .

Where this program is available





Program length : 3 years

Program Objectives

Specialization A: Office Work Coodination

This program is designed to develop theoretical and practical skills in management, in interpersonal relationships, and in the use of software and new areas in computer technology. It prepares students to be able to plan, organize, supervise and evaluate work in the office unit, in the recruitment and in the training of office staff. It teaches writing skills, text translation and revision, how to carry out procedures, the management of material resources and finances in an office unit, to manage a database, to manage documents and to organize seminars, conferences, congresses and other types of events. It develops their leadership skills and their sense of responsibility.

Specialization B: Micropublishing and Hypermedia

This program is designed to develop theoretical and practical skills in information technology as well as writing skills, and text translation and revision. It prepares students in the production, graphic concept and page layout of training manuals, forms, reports, publicity documents, newsletters and internal bulletins, multimedia presentatoins, web pages and other types of hypermedia documents. It prepares the students in project management. It develops in the students creativity, a sense of esthetics and to be conscious of minute details 

Where this program is available

Découvre les métiers en formation professionnelle et technique qui offrent les meilleurs perspectives d'emploi au Québec

Secrétaires

Autres appellations : secrétaire administratif/secrétaire administrative, secrétaire-sténodactylo, technicien/technicienne en bureautique, téléphoniste-secrétaire

Fiche métier

Description :

Les secrétaires effectuent des tâches administratives pour épauler les gestionnaires et les professionnels dans le travail de bureau. Ils travaillent dans les secteurs privé et public.

Principales tâches :

  • préparer, saisir à l'ordinateur, réviser et relire de la correspondance, des factures, des présentations, des brochures, des publications, des rapports et autres documents connexes à partir de notes sténographiques, dictées ou manuscrites;
  • ouvrir et distribuer le courrier postal et électronique et les autres documents reçus et coordonner la circulation des renseignements à l'interne et avec d'autres services et organismes;
  • fixer et confirmer les rendez-vous et les réunions de l'employeur;
  • commander les fournitures de bureau et en tenir l'inventaire;
  • répondre aux demandes de renseignements reçues par téléphone et par courrier électronique et transmettre les appels téléphoniques et les messages;
  • établir et tenir des systèmes manuels et informatisés de classement des dossiers d'information
  • formuler et mettre en œuvre les modes de fonctionnement du bureau;
  • accueillir les visiteurs, déterminer le but de leur visite et les diriger vers l'employeur ou la personne appropriée;
  • consigner et préparer les procès-verbaux des réunions;
  • établir les itinéraires des voyages et faire les réservations nécessaires;
  • compiler, s'il y a lieu, des données, des statistiques et autres renseignements et effectuer, si nécessaire, des recherches;
  • surveiller et former, s'il y a lieu, d'autres employés en ce qui a trait aux méthodes de travail et à l'exploitation de logiciels courants.

Régions où ce métier
a les meilleures perspectives :

  • Chaudière-Appalaches
  • Outaouais
  • Capitale-Nationale

Formation

DIPLÔME D'ÉTUDES PROFESSIONNELLES (DEP)

 

SECRÉTARIAT

Durée : 1 an et demi

Objectifs du programme

Développer les compétences nécessaires pour l'application des principes, des règles et des méthodes suivantes : une méthode de doigté, la révision de textes en français, la gestion de l'information administrative, l'approche qualité, la gestion du temps, la conception et la présentation visuelle d'un document, la rédaction et la disposition de la correspondance en français; développer les compétences nécessaires pour l'utilisation des outils informatiques ci-après : logiciels de base de données, de traitement de texte, de tableur, et de communication; développer les compétences nécessaires pour communiquer en milieu de travail et gérer, en français et en anglais, les communications d'un bureau; développer les compétences pour la réalisation des tâches de secrétariat telles que : produire et recevoir de la correspondance en français, produire des documents, traiter les demandes relatives aux lois du travail, mettre à jour des dossiers, préparer des réunions d'affaires, effectuer des tâches comptables courantes, effectuer des tâches comptables périodiques, produire de la correspondance en anglais, traduire de la correspondance en anglais.

Organismes scolaires offrant le programme

 

SECRÉTARIAT (INUKTITUK)

Durée: 2 ans

Objectifs du programme

Développer les compétences nécessaires pour l’application des principes, des règles et des méthodes suivantes : une méthode de doigté en français et une méthode de doigté en Inuktitut, des notions de français appliquées à de la correspondance, des notions de rédaction de textes en Inuktitut, des notions de disposition de correspondance, des notions de gestion de documents, des notions relatives au concept de qualité, une méthode de gestion du temps, des notions d’éditique; développer les compétences nécessaires pour l’utilisation des outils informatiques logiciels ci-après : d’exploitation, de base de données, de traitement de texte, de chiffrier électronique, de traitement de données comptables; développer les compétences nécessaires pour communiquer en milieu de travail et gérer, en français et en anglais, les communications d’un bureau en utilisant les outils téléphoniques et informatiques appropriés; développer les compétences pour la réalisation des tâches de secrétariat telles que : produire de la correspondance d’affaires en français et en Inuktitut, des documents d’affaires, traiter les demandes relatives aux lois du travail, préparer des réunions d’affaires, tenir les livres comptables d’entreprises de services et commerciales, produire les paies, mettre à jour des dossiers. 

Organisme scolaire offrant le programme

 

DIPLÔME D'ÉTUDES COLLÉGIALES (DEC)

 

TECHNIQUES DE BUREAUTIQUE

Durée : 3 ans

Objectifs du programme

Le programme Techniques de bureautique vise à former des secrétaires (sauf les domaines juridique et médical) spécialisées soit en coordination de bureau ou en éditique.

Voie de spécialisation A - Coordination du travail de bureau

Développer les compétences théoriques et pratiques en gestion, en relation interpersonnelles et en exploitation des logiciels et des nouveaux environnements informatiques. Préparer les élèves à la planification, l'organisation, la supervision et l'évaluation du travail d'une équipe rattachée à une unité de bureau, au recrutement et à la formation du personnel de l'unité de bureau. Préparer les élèves à la rédaction, la révision et la traduction de textes, à l'élaboration de procédures, à la gestion des ressources matérielles et financières d'une unité de bureau, à la gestion de bases de données, à la gestion documentaire et à l'organisation de séminaires, colloques, congrès et autres types d'événements. Développer le leadership et le sens des responsabilités des élèves.

Voie de spécialisation B - Micro-édition et hypermédia

Développer les compétences théoriques et pratiques tant au niveau des outils informatiques qu'au niveau de la rédaction, de la traduction et du traitement linguistique des textes. Préparer les élèves à la production, à la conception graphique et à la mise en pages de cahiers de formation, de formulaires, de rapports, de documents publicitaires, de bulletins et journaux internes, de présentations multimédias, de pages web et autres types de documents hypermédias. Préparer les élèves à la gestion de projets. Développer la créativité des élèves, leur sens de l'esthétisme et le souci du détail.

Organismes scolaires offrant le programme